Mind of A Wanderlust

Recently, I was able to travel the magical world of Peru for 14 days, solo. During these 14 days of adventures, I came across a numerous amount of people from all over the world. Each one of these faces had their own story and reasoning to life.

After the long days of trekking through the mountains of Machu Picchu, all of us travelers would come together for some laughs and lessons. Every conversation I participated in, I started to notice a trend of characteristic that brought us travelers from strangers to friends. The fear of commitment.

I am guilty as the next wanderlust; commitment is something we all avoid because we believe it will stop us from doing what we love. The kind of commitment I am talking about is being in a relationship. Now I am coming from my own and other travelers thoughts on this topic. When a person is in a relationship, your focus is to tend on your spouses needs and become as selfless as possible. Understanding one another and becoming one is the goal out of each relationship which involves sacrificing things that are important to you for the other person. Yes, sounds very romantic and beautiful BUT for travelers… we are not ready to stop being selfish with our time. I mean come on, we only live once? Why should I give up the thing I love most for another person just to settle down?

Don’t get me wrong, for some people that is the ideal dream! I want to bond with someone on a spiritual, emotional, and physical level as much as the next girl but I will not give up my life of traveling to achieve it.

Traveling has taught me so much about myself that I do not believe a human could. Through traveling, I have made friends all over this world who shares the same love and passion as myself. When I thought humbleness was a lost cause in our generation, traveling gave me new eyes and heart for humanity. It has taught me to never take any moment in life for granted. I learned to put down the electronics and appreciate the company of every human being I encounter because it might be the last. Every step I took in a different country has brought me one step closer to becoming the kind of woman I strive for. Most importantly, traveling has taught me to put all my Trust in God. My relationship with Jesus Christ has became stronger than ever because when I hit a wall, He always provides a better way up. And these are only a few ways traveling has impacted me.

Every day, my mother likes to ask me the question when am I going to stop traveling and find a nice boy to settle down with. My response? When they leave me breathless like traveling does.

Friends ask me, “Mary, why don’t you find someone who loves traveling like you do?” The odds of finding someone who is willing leave everything at any given time to travel is slim. Each one of us travelers are trying to find that missing piece in ourselves. We use traveling to find out who we are not to find a spouse. This is not a Christen University here. Though, the rare thing about travelers is that singleness does not scare us. We kind of predict it because of how spontaneous our lives can be.

Personally, people are unable to keep up with the life I live but one; Jesus Christ. If my life involves living out my passion and exploring this magical world with Jesus by my side everyday then I must say, I am excited for my future.

“I will find my rest in God alone. He is the One who gives me hope. He alone is my rock. He is the one who saves me. He is like a fort to me. I will always be secure. I depend on God to save me and to honor me. He is my mighty rock. He is my place of safety. Trust in him at all times, you people. Tell him all of your troubles. God is our place of safety.”

Psalm 62:5-8

Leave a Reply

