Free Spirit of Mine

on

This past week has definitely been a stressful one. Twelve hour clinical back to back, studying for important exams coming up within the next week, figuring out complicated situations with the opposite gender, and only hanging out with my computer screen. What a wonderful life.

I am not the type of person who can stay in one place, doing the same thing for multiple hours. I start to become agitated because I know there is so much to do outside of those doors. All I have to do is get up & leave but this becomes hard when you are in an active relationship with nursing school. So I did the next best thing…

Instead of studying, I researched plane tickets for Peru in August. Right there I found the cheapest ticket round trip for 14 days. Immediately, I called a couple of my closest friends to bark on this decision I was about to make. Am I crazy for traveling alone? A young girl just walking around the streets of Peru, ALONE. Secretly, I started to panic because I did not know what I was getting myself into. Then it hit me when my friend said “Mary, this is what you do. This is who you are. Since when have you ever needed someone to do something your heart lived for?”. She was right. When did I start letting the worldly fears consume me? I have been so caught up in other things that it put fear in me, not including school. I could not continue this.

My thought process: I am a young, single, out-going girl who needed to find herself again. In a couple of years, who knows how often I will be able to travel once I am finished with school and in a serious relationship (maybe). I have been so consumed in these worldly decisions that it started to affect my happiness. Years ago, I made a choice to always put my happiness first and if anything altered that then it would not carry on with me. Traveling brings me happiness, whether I am alone or with friends. So, I bought the ticket.

On my laptop I have a pink sticky note that write, ” I have a plan for you. Do you trust me? -God “. Once I clicked the button ‘purchase’ on my overview ticket, I looked at this note and got all excited. I have not felt like this since I bought my ticket for Thailand back in March. This note is a reminder to myself to always trust Him in every aspect of my life, even the ones I feel I can control.

Am I nervous to travel solo to a foreign country I have never been too? Yes, I am terrified but I must trust Him. For all I know, people might want to tag along last min or I will meet new people to explore Peru there. All I can do is Trust. 

Next stop: Peru and Panama! I will be posting pictures along the way: maryykaii

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. ‘Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you’.” 

Jeremiah 29: 11-12

Leave a Reply

