The First Experience

About a year and a half ago, I gave my life to Jesus Christ. After I was baptized November 12, 2014, I craved to know more of the truth. I wanted to know it all so I participated in things any new Christian would do. I attended multiple bible studies, got a mentor who understood me, and read devotionals daily. These actions gave me a better understand of the bible and who God is.

After a couple months into it, I felt like I was missing something. Every person I knew who were strong in their faith could hear or see God. God would talk to them. Then I started to think, why hasn’t God talked to me?  I believed I was strong enough in my faith where I could receive a little something. I felt Him through the Holy Spirit but He never gave me an image or whispered something to me? As a new baby Christian, I started to crave this.

One Friday night, a couple of my friends and I went to a worship event called Renew. There were rumors where people who attend this worship night came out with a new experience. I did not know what this new experience withhold but I wanted it. During worship, I kept praying for God to speak to me. I filled my head with noises on why it was not happening. I was so consumed on getting an answer that I shut down my mind and body from receiving anything. After a couple hours, I was done. I was so distracted with my own thoughts and was not enjoying what was around me. My worries and doubts, I let go.

My guard was down and my mind was open. I held my hands together, closed my eyes, and looked up towards the sky. I prayed once more for God to speak to me then I was done. The next thing that happened was unforgettable. God showed Himself to me.

What did I see?

I was walking through a field of grass that were as tall as my legs. The sky was filled with colors of orange, reds, and yellows. It was beautiful. Up ahead I saw a bright light. This light was something I have never seen before. It came closer to me through the grass. As I stared into the light, an overwhelming feeling of joy and peace over came my body. Instead of being afraid, I started to run towards the light. This light was next to me as we ran through the field into the sunset. I was in pure joy! I ran with a smile on my face and laughter in my belly. All my worries were gone and I was completely myself. With all these feelings present, this light made me feel a kind of love and acceptance I have never felt before. I felt as if I was in my own kind of heaven.

5 minutes later, which felt like entirety at the moment, I opened my eye and realized I was still at Renew. Tears were in my eyes and my body felt weightless. The biggest smile was present on my face because the Holy Spirit overcame my whole body and I knew I saw God. God answered my prayers and gave me my deepest desires, Him.  I knew there, I had nothing to worry about.

Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him and He will do this

Psalm 37:4-5

 

Leave a Reply

