Finding Happiness in the Little Things

 

Happiness: “pleasure, joy, exhilaration, bliss, delight, enjoyment, satisfaction.”

 

People always ask me,

“How do you have the money to travel?”

“How can you afford going to these places?”

 

When you have a passion for something, you chase it. Anything is possible with the power of passion. Traveling makes my body quiver to the bone. Seeing the world became my priority. After a lot of praying and saving, I was able to see the sunset in seven different countries and eleven different states.

God can be funny because He knew I hated being out of my comfort zone. I cringed at the idea of leaving my own home. When my best friend invited me to run away from the world to Oregon, I was not about it. If it was not for my recent break up, I would not have gone.

 

Now this is where God gets funny.

 

Tickets were bought and we were off to a new adventure. Nothing was planned. The only thing we knew was we had a flight back to Arizona in one week. Seven days of walking every destination. Seven days of finding a new place to sleep, every night. Seven days of not being able to shower. Seven days of hell out of my comfort zone. But those seven days were the best days of my life.

In those seven days, I was able to appreciate the little things in life. I looked at grass as a comfy spot to lay on. I admired the sky and the colors that took place during a sunset. I saw mountains as a destination to climb. I see the world with a new lens after that trip.

Then, I started to realize things…

God could have made this world black and white but He chose not too. Instead, He blessed us with red & orange sunsets and mountains that touches the sky. Every day, God shows himself to us through these little things.

No matter how hard our days can be and how much we want to break down, God is trying to have us see the beauty of life. We humans make life difficult. This life of ours is suppose to be simple and full of beauty.

For 5 minutes, look up at the sky and soak it in. Look at the clouds and how they blend with the sky so beautifully. Then, look to the mountains and witness how soft they look. How they change colors depending on the sun. This is how I see life.

 

“Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God”

Matthew 5:8

Leave a Reply

